21 September 2019

New Board members for the BSB

Last month we announced the appointment of three new lay Board members.

The new Board members are:

  • Lara Fielden;
  • Kathryn Stone OBE; and
  • Stephen Thornton CBE.

Our Board is made up of 15 people: seven barristers, seven lay members and a lay Chair. The new appointments will help to ensure that our Board maintains the range of skills, experience and perspectives that we need to undertake our independent public interest regulation.  Information about all our Board members is available on our website.

We are grateful to our outgoing members, Ms Rolande Anderson and Dr Anne Wright CBE - and indeed Mr Rob Behrens who left us earlier this year, for the invaluable advice and support which they offered to the Board during their years of service.

The incoming Board members were selected by an independent panel, chaired by Bronwen Curtis CBE.

Ms Fielden, Ms Stone OBE and Mr Thornton CBE took up their appointments on 1 January, when our new Chair, The Rt Hon the Baroness Blackstone, also took up her post.